South Shore–St. Margarets General Meeting

All EDA Meetings / South Shore–St. Margarets General Meeting

Riding South Shore-St. Margaret's
Date May 12, 2018
Province NS
Location St. Luke's United Church Hall, 5374 St Margarets Bay Rd, Upper Tantallon, NS B3Z 2J1
Start Time 14:00 PM

South Shore–St. Margarets General Meeting

Position First Name Last Name
Chair Keith Sullivan
Vice-Chair Christopher Milley
Secretary Margarita (Margaret) Campbell
Policy Chair Alan Timberlake
Organization Chair David Jordan
Director-at-Large John Chandler
Director-at-Large Patricia Culbert
Director-at-Large Cathy de Rome
Director-at-Large Richard Welsford
Director-at-Large Kenneth Zwicker

As a Registered Liberal, you’re invited to attend the General Meeting of the South Shore–St. Margarets Federal Liberal Association.

As you may know, these general meetings for your local Liberal Electoral District Association (EDA) give us all an exciting chance to build up our local team for the year ahead.  Table Officers and Directors will be chosen by you, and fellow Liberals in your area.

This is an exciting time to be involved in the Liberal Party of Canada, as we work together to support positive politics and Justin Trudeau’s plan for a stronger middle class.

Together, we’re continuing to build the most open and inclusive movement in Canadian politics – and connecting with our neighbours and communities is essential on the road to the next election campaign in 2019.  With leadership that brings Canadians together, the Liberal government has cut taxes for 9 million middle class Canadians, offered real help for Canadian families with the new Canada Child Benefit, and taken important steps to fight climate change, grow our economy, and renew Canada’s engagement in the world. And there’s so much more to do.

The meeting will be held at St. Luke’s United Church Hall, 5374 St Margarets Bay Rd, Upper Tantallon, NS B3Z 2J1, on May 12th at 2:00 pm.

The EDA Board of Directors is often the first point of contact that Canadians will have with the Liberal Party of Canada. Serving on your EDA Board is a great way to develop your skills, to cultivate relationships, and to engage with community leaders – regardless of how much or how little experience you may have with political engagement.

Members of the board will be responsible for engaging Canadians at the grassroots level, hosting events, fundraising, and most importantly, building towards the next federal election.

If you would like to hold a position on the EDA board of directors, you must submit your intent to stand to the National Returning Officer through this Online Form by no later than April 27th at 11:59PM.

The roles that will be filled at this General Meeting are:

Chair Vice-Chair
Secretary Organization Chair
Policy Chair Six (6) Directors-at-Large 

Descriptions for each of these roles are outlined in section 6.1 of the Liberal Party of Canada’s EDA by-law, here. Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact us at, or by phone at 1-888-LIBERAL.

In order to vote, individuals must be registered as a Liberal by no later than May 4th at 11:59PM local time.*

*for an application submitted by an online form via the Liberal Party website. Applications submitted on a paper form shall be considered eligible if the effective date, as determined by By-law 4 – Registered Liberals, is equal to or before the cut-off date for this meeting.


  1. Call to Order
  2. Approval of agenda
  3. Approval of previous AGM minutes: April 22, 2017
  4. Greetings from MP Bernadette Jordan
  5. Address from Alaina Lockhart, MP Fundy Royal and Parliamentary Secretary, Small Business and Tourism
  6. Presentation of 2017-2018 Reports
    • EDA Chair
    • Policy Chair
    • Treasurer
    • Organization Chair
  7. Election of EDA Officers and Directors
  8. Remarks by newly elected 2018 Chair
  9. Other Business
  10. Adjournment