Northwest Territories General Meeting

All EDA Meetings / Northwest Territories General Meeting

Riding Northwest Territories
Date Nov 16, 2017
Province NT
Location Conference Room at the Stanton Suites Hotel (Nova Court), located at 476 Range Lake Rd, Yellowknife, NT X1A 3Z3
Start Time 19:00 PM

Northwest Territories General Meeting

Position First Name Last Name
Chair Charles Blyth
Secretary Shannon Graf
Director-at-Large Terry Testart
Director-at-Large Louise Boettger
Director-at-Large Caroline Wawzonek
Director-at-Large Garett Cochrane
Vice-Chair John Hazenberg
Vice-Chair David Monroe
Organization Chair Shams Atroun

As a Registered Liberal, you’re invited to attend the General Meeting of the Northwest Territories Federal Liberal Association.

As you may know, these general meetings for your local Liberal Electoral District Association (EDA) give us all an exciting chance to build up our local team for the year ahead.  Table Officers and Directors will be chosen by you, and fellow Liberals in your area.

This is an exciting time to be involved in the Liberal Party of Canada, as we work together to support positive politics and Justin Trudeau’s plan for a stronger middle class.

Together, we’re continuing to build the most open and inclusive movement in Canadian politics – and connecting with our neighbours and communities is essential on the road to the next election campaign in 2019.  With leadership that brings Canadians together, the Liberal government has cut taxes for 9 million middle class Canadians, offered real help for Canadian families with the new Canada Child Benefit, and taken important steps to fight climate change, grow our economy, and renew Canada’s engagement in the world. And there’s so much more to do.

The meeting will be held on November 16th, 2017 at 7pm in the Conference Room at the Stanton Suites Hotel (Nova Court), located at 476 Range Lake Rd, Yellowknife, NT X1A 3Z3.

Please note that in the event of a contest for positions on the Northwest Territories Federal Liberal Association Executive Board, an online vote will be held to fill the positions. The online vote will take place in advance of the General Meeting date. This is a pilot project using a recently acquired online voting system.

In the event of a contested election, additional instructions will follow the intent to stand deadline to give further details regarding the online vote process.

The EDA Board of Directors is often the first point of contact that Canadians will have with the Liberal Party of Canada. Serving on your EDA Board is a great way to develop your skills, to cultivate relationships, and to engage with community leaders – regardless of how much or how little experience you may have with political engagement.

Members of the board will be responsible for engaging Canadians at the grassroots level, hosting events, fundraising, and most importantly, building towards the next federal election.

If you would like to hold a position on the EDA board of directors, you must submit your intent to stand to the National Returning Officer through this Online Form by no later than November 2nd at 11:59PM.

[Please note that nominations from the floor at the General Meeting will not be accepted, and that only Registered Liberals who have submitted an intent to stand by the deadline will be considered for election at the General Meeting. Any vacancies on the Board following the election will be filled by way of appointment by the Board of Directors formed at the General Meeting.] 

The roles that will be filled at this General Meeting are:

Chair Vice-Chair
Secretary Organization Chair
Policy Chair Six (6) Directors-at-Large 

Descriptions for each of these roles are outlined in section 6.1 of the Liberal Party of Canada’s EDA by-law, here. Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact us at, or by phone at 1-888-LIBERAL.

In order to vote, individuals must be registered as a Liberal by no later than November 9th at 11:59PM local time.*

*for an application submitted by an online form via the Liberal Party website. Applications submitted on a paper form shall be considered eligible if the effective date, as determined by By-law 4 – Registered Liberals, is equal to or before the cut-off date for this meeting.


  1. Call to Order
  2. Greetings from MP
  3. Approval of agenda
  4. Approval of previous meeting minutes
  5. Presentation of Reports
  6. Results from Election of Officers and Directors
  7. Remarks by newly elected Chair
  8. Any Other Business
  9. Adjournment